Wal-Mart
24 February 2003 & 17:53

My roommate is frolicking about the apartment openly sporting a stylish little 9mm semi-automatic on her hip. Should I be concerned?


I haven't worked in two weeks, and I won't be working this week. Damn you, Wal-Mart! No no no, I don't work for Wal-Mart. I work for an independent photography lab and portrait studio, and business is not good. Ever since Super Wal-Mart came in, we have been losing business in a steady trickle, and this month the dam sort of broke. I could almost see the crazed mob running away from the store. We've been grossing about $200/day, and that's not near enough to pay all of us. So my boss, knowing I'm struggling to balance school and a job and a relationship and a life, decided to do me a favor and give me some time off. I tried coming in one day when he didn't specifically call and tell me not to. He let me work a whole hour. Woo hoo, now I can buy $7 worth of food.

My mom is adorable. She calls me just about every day to see if I need money. "No, Mom, I'll be alright, honest. I have some money in savings." "Oh, but you need savings, sweetie! If you won't let me give you money, I'll just have to take you grocery shopping. You can't feed yourself if you're boss won't let you work." Isn't Mom the greatest? I refuse to take more of her money, I've had to let her pay for too much as it is, but I appreciate the offer. I'm lucky to have a mom who actually gives a damn. Anyroad, I'll be eating a lot of ramen, I guess. It's my own choice, but I still feel put out by it. Go figure.

last / next

navigate:
archives
newest
people guide
email
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
design
image cafe
diaryland

16 April 2003 - Nonsense.

15 April 2003 - The tree in my phone stand

14 April 2003 - Pah. And Bah. And Fooey.

28 March 2003 - -

26 March 2003 - NYC Day 1