Who are these people?
10 March 2003 & 23:50

Who are these people anyway?

Ok, I've noticed that some people have a sort of guide available for all the people they talk about in their diary. I suppose I ought to do that as well. I've been avoiding it because I think I already have too many links over there, but I guess I'll figure something out.

So, here goes.

San: San is my boyfriend. We've been together . . . what, three and a half years now? Seems like forever. I have this weird insecurity thing from time to time, but overall I think we have a pretty healthy relationship. The only problem is that he is attending college in the next state, so I only see him two or three times a month. I think most of my insecurity stems from a fear that when we finally live in the same town again, we'll discover we've become completely incompatible. In any case, while I may complain about San once in awhile, I think he's a wonderful fellow. I try very hard not to go on and on about his wonderfulness, but it's true.

Cow: Cow is my roommate. Don't get the wrong impression because I call her Cow - it is a strange nickname I assigned her as a joke years ago, and her friends have picked up on it. She finds it amusing, and now has quite an interesting collection of random cow stuff. We've been friends since seventh grade, and it turns out we went to Sunday school together in third grade and never knew it. Cow is insane, because she is majoring in Mechanical Engineering, and majoring in Spanish, and she is a college athlete. She makes me feel like a lazy underachieving slug, but I love her anyway.

Ren: Ren is my friend, and the president of my anime club. We actually met in a summer class, which I believe I explain here. He often lures me over to his apartment with the irresistible offer of tea on Monday nights after anime, which interferers terribly with my homework. Then I feel dumb and stuff when I get nothing accomplished and have to sacrifice sleep and sanity to prepare for therapeutics the next day, but I never seem to learn.

Jeram: Jeram is another friend of mine. We met through the honors program, and soon discovered that we had all the same classes because we were both pharmacy students. We started scheduling labs together and the like, and between classes and studying I saw a good deal more of him than I did my boyfriend, and probably even my roommate. I think most of our classmates thought we were dating, which we found amusing since we were already dating other people. Then Jeram freaked out a week before the Pharmacy applications were due, and didn't apply for the program until the next year. However, now that he's in the program, I see him around the building and at anime, so I'm sure he'll show up in my writing at some point.

Dr. Pharmacology: Dr. Pharmacology is my pharmacology professor. Big surprise here, eh? I occasionally talk about him because he says very silly things from time to time. I don't know if they seem silly or even slightly amusing to anyone else in the world, but this is my diary so I don't really care.

Dr. Nick: I try not to write about Dr. Nick because it is bad for my mental health to think about him much. He comes across as a very nice fellow, but he terrifies me. His grading is even more arbitrary than his exams, and history has shown that those who make him angry have a very difficult time passing his courses. If I were rating the various stress stimuli in my life on a scale of 1 to 10 according to severity, Dr. Nick would be about a 79. Probably higher. He is the #1 reason why I should NOT be spending Monday evenings drinking tea with Ren, but then I never claimed to have particularly good judgment.

Mom: Mom is my mom. Wow, what a shock.

Dad: Dad is my dad. Pretty amazing, eh? Mom and Dad are one of those few amazing couples that are still together after more than 22 years of marriage. They spoil me rotten and constantly try to find new ways to help me out so that I don't starve (they refuse to accept that I am in absolutely no danger of starving) while trying not to be pushy intrusive parents. It's almost comical to watch them try to balance it. Anyroad, I love them both dearly and am well aware that I am very lucky to have such loving parents. I am also very lucky to have them living in the same town.

Carol: Carol is San's mom. Sometimes she is the most wonderful woman, and sometimes she drives me crazy. I suppose that's how it always is, that's why there are so many mother-in-law jokes out there. For the most part, we get along wonderfully. I think the main problem is that my pathetic self-esteem still cannot accept that she actually likes me.

Earl: Earl is San's dad. He is one of the most amazing men I have ever met. He knows absolutely everything about everything, has this awful sense of humor based almost entirely on bad puns, writes some of the most amazing poetry I've ever read - he once wrote me a poem to thank me for cookies - and is completely devoted to his family.

Well, that's everyone I've written about, and a few I can foresee myself writing about in the near future. I suppose there are a couple more people who should be on here, but I'm tired and I type way too much per person to go on like this at this hour. So here is my big cop-out entry for the night, if I survive the next few exam-saturated days, I'll write something more exciting. Or maybe not. We'll see.

last / next

navigate:
archives
newest
people guide
email
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
design
image cafe
diaryland

16 April 2003 - Nonsense.

15 April 2003 - The tree in my phone stand

14 April 2003 - Pah. And Bah. And Fooey.

28 March 2003 - -

26 March 2003 - NYC Day 1