NYC Day 1
26 March 2003 & 09:23

Ok. I survived another day of therapeutics and am currently living in dread of two lectures in a row from Dr. Nick. I've discovered that next semester Dr. Nick's class will be FOUR hours each Wednesday instead of the current three. Fortunately we get a one hour lunch break in the middle, but I can think of quite a few things I'd rather do than spend four hours praying Dr. Nick won't look at me . . .

Incidently, naming the Evil Master of Therapeutics Torture Dr. Nick makes him a bit less scary. I keep thinking of that incompetent quack from The Simpsons, and while that Dr. Nick and my Dr. Nick have almost nothing in common, it's hard to be intimidated with that silly cartoon voice running through my head. "Hello everybody!" Yes . . . anyway.

I did a masterful job of wasting time yesterday. I'm quite proud of myself, really. After making tasty dinner (asparagus and chicken in creamy curry sauce - Oh how I love cooking!) I managed to waste most of the evening playing with my amazon.com wishlist. Truly I have found a new low in avoidance behavior. I even toyed with the idea of linking my happy (and now much, much too long) wishlist here, but then I decided no one would care and I certainly wouldn't get any presents out of the deal, so I decided the five seconds of work it would take to edit my template was just too much to expect. Lazy? You bet!

I also managed to finish my abstract and I was right, it wasn't difficult or traumatizing or even time-consuming. But it was still irritating.

Ok, down to the NYC trip. Finally.

Day 1: Monday, March 17

I stayed up until 4:00AM packing and cleaning my apartment. There was absolutely no need to stay up this late as far as I can tell, but somehow I managed to do so. At 4:00, I crawled into bed, then remembered that my fish, Othello, had been swimming in really gross water for about three weeks now and probably deserved a bath. So at 4:30 I crawled into bed for a one-hour nap before San's family showed up to take me to the airport. At 5:00, my mother called to wish me a nice trip. So much for the nap. Needless to say, I slept quite a bit on the drive to the airport and the flight to Newark.

I think that employee training at Denver International Airport must consist of learning how to scowl and learning how to shout the same damn instructions over and over and over and over in the ears of sleepy travelers. I do not remember this phenomenon from the last time I flew, it must be something added in with the new government-employed security. I was tempted to scowl back and start shouting questions in their ears. "WHAT WAS THAT YOU SAID? I HAVE TO HAVE MY ID OUT? ARE YOU SURE? WILL MY KEG ACCOUNT CARD WORK, THAT HAS MY NAME ON IT!" Yeah, I was in a great mood. Fortunately I had my special green St. Patrick's Day corn bread muffins to cheer me up.

The flight was fairly uneventful. As always, I was positioned right on top of the damn wing. I am always over the wing. It's a curse. San was so sweet and gave me the window like he always does, and as always, I had a really great view of the wing. Ah well, I was able to see over the back of it well enough to see Lake Erie all covered with broken up ice, which was one of the snazziest-looking things I've ever encountered. That is a big damn lake! It doesn't look that big on the maps, on account of being next to all those other, bigger lakes, but in person it's soemthing else entirely.

Bleg, time to run away to medchem. Told you this would take awhile.

last / next

navigate:
archives
newest
people guide
email
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
design
image cafe
diaryland

16 April 2003 - Nonsense.

15 April 2003 - The tree in my phone stand

14 April 2003 - Pah. And Bah. And Fooey.

28 March 2003 - -

26 March 2003 - NYC Day 1