The tree in my phone stand
15 April 2003 & 22:24

We got another phone book yesterday. This makes four now. Four phonebooks for a town of 25,000. Four phonebooks which are virtually identical except for their specific size, or shape, or the pretty picture on the cover. That makes three phonebooks that we aren't using, because everyone knows the good old fashioned Qwest-dex (even though the stupid Qwest name is not particularly old-fashioned) is the best. Add the campus directory, and we have a small tree in the drawer of our phone table, 3/5 of which we never asked for.

Who decided we needed four phone book companies in this town? When they added the second one, that was fine. We kept one upstairs and one down, no worries. When they added the third, we figured it would go away soon. No way three phone book companies could survive in one town.

But now we have four. FOUR?! Honestly, people! I wish they wouldn't keep giving them to us, I shudder to think of all that wasted paper. Perhaps I can find some sort of use for it. Stuffing teddy bears or some such. Pah. I shall have to find out if we still recycle phone books in this town.

I had a pizza date with Daddy tonight. Mom can't eat dairy anymore, so he never gets pizza. My roommate is involved with half a dozen campus organizations, all of which serve pizza at every meeting, so I never get pizza. So Daddy and I joined forces and got a pizza for ourselves. Yay! I spent the whole evening with my parents, not because I have no homework but because I no longer have the motivation to do it.

My brain is on strike.

It walked out on me around noon today. It didn't leave a note or tell me what was bothering it, but I know it was upset because I heard it slam the door on the way out. I'm still waiting for it to state its demands.

The worst part was trying to stay awake through therapeutics. You have to stay awake through therapeutics, because there's a quiz at the end. No time for, "oh, I'll just go through this convenient print out of the notes once my brain has seen the error of its ways and returned to work." Oh no, there's no time for that, because as soon as the two and a half hour lecture is over, BOOM, twenty minute quiz. I think I managed to muddle my way through, but it would have been so much easier with the help of an actual brain, you know?

Anyroad, I'm really quite sleepy and feeling a bit feverish with this nasty sore throat thing going on, so I suspect I should go to bed before I stop making sense. Unless, of course, I've already stopped making sense, in which case I know it's time for bed.

last / next

navigate:
archives
newest
people guide
email
guestbook
profile
notes
rings
design
image cafe
diaryland

16 April 2003 - Nonsense.

15 April 2003 - The tree in my phone stand

14 April 2003 - Pah. And Bah. And Fooey.

28 March 2003 - -

26 March 2003 - NYC Day 1